Concert 6 – Aula Minor Rolduc Kerkrade

Date: Tuesday 13 August 2019 Time: 16.30 Price: € 17,- (or with a day ticket € 24,50) Location: Aula Minor Rolduc, Kerkrade


Five composers in two compositions

The Czech composer Zdeněk Lukáš, hardly known in this country, wrote a large oeuvre, often inspired by Czech folklore. His ‘low’ duo contains ‘high’ demands for the performers. Four composers writing in perfect cooperation? Unthinkable, but in this special string quartet four Russian composers wrote a tribute to the music publisher Mitrofan Petrovich Belayeff, at the occasion of his 5oth birthday. Each of them composed one movement, and all four did use with conviction the three tones that are contained in the name Belayeff: B-La-F, or B-Flat-A-F. This unique cooperation resulted in this ‘quartet by a quartet, seldom heard in concert halls.


Zdeněk Lukáš (1928-2007) Duo di Basso op.210 (1987)
Peter Karetnikov violoncello & Toby Hughes double bass

Nikolaj Rimski-Korsakov(1844-1908)/Anatoli Ljadov (1855-1914)/ Aleksandr Borodin (1833-1887)/Aleksandr Glazounov (1865-1908) Quartet on the name B-la-f (1886)
Rusquartet: Xenia Gamaris violin, Anna Yanchishina violin, Ksenia Zhuleva viola, Peter Karetnikov violoncello

Overview location

View evening concerts

View afternoon concerts

View region concerts

Cookies & privacy

We use only functional and analytical cookies. Nothing else! Change your settings or view our privacy statement.

Privacy policy | Close