Concert 6 – Aula Major 2

Date: Tuesday 13 August 2019 Time: 20.00 Price: € 26,00 | € 22,00 Location: Aula Major Rolduc, Kerkrade


The silent scream, Schubert’s inspiration and more…

Franz Schubert’s famous ‘Trout Quintet’ uses a rare instrumentation, piano quartet plus double bass, which he discovered thanks to this quintet by Hummel, Mozart’s brilliant pupil, who thus has the honour of having used this instrumentation for the first time. Shuann Chai plays this virtuoso work on a historical grand piano. The Osiris Trio enters into renewed collaborations with Alan R. Kay and James Austin Smith, in an exciting work by living composer Matheson and in a theatrical and intense composition by Hans Kox.  Opposite these three probably unknown works by lesser-known composers are the great names of Telemann and Brahms, each represented by a mature work.


Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767) Sonata in B-flat, TWV 42:B5 (1737?)
Kristian Winther violin, Dorian Cooke bassoon, Dirk Luijmes harpsichord

Hans Kox (1930-2019) The Silent Cry (2001)
James Austin Smith oboe & Osiris Trio: Peter Brunt violin, Larissa Groeneveld violoncello, Ellen Corver piano

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Sonata op.120 nr.1, in f (1894)
Alan R. Kay clarinet & Elena Nemtsova piano

James Matheson (b.1970) Buzz (2001)
Alan R. Kay clarinet & Osiris Trio: Peter Brunt violin, Larissa Groeneveld violoncello, Ellen Corver piano

Johann Nepomuk Hummel (1778 – 1837) Quintet op.87 (1802)
Shuann Chai piano, Shunske Sato violin, Tom Congdon viola, Mikhail Nemtsov violoncello, Toby Hughes double bass

Overview location

View evening concerts

View afternoon concerts

View region concerts

Cookies & privacy

We use only functional and analytical cookies. Nothing else! Change your settings or view our privacy statement.

Privacy policy | Close